blurry yarn love

This is going to be a bit rambling.
Here’s my new yarn.  I checked out the Haus of Yarn this afternoon, searching for some wooly love.  Thanks to Jodi I found out about Ysolda‘s new shawlette pattern.  Obviously, I needed some yarn.  And by chance, I decided on the very same shade used in the pattern.  It’s just so lovely.  And I’m casting on right now.
It’s a kind of therapy really.  See, we went with cheap movers and we should have known better.  Turns out, my furniture has never left New Jersey.  They packed it up August 1 … and it’s just been sitting around in some warehouse since then.  Um.  I don’t even want to think about what will be “lost” after all of this.  The company kind of promised to have it here this week.  Seriously ridiculous.
So, I went to Target (again) and bought some kitchen stuff so I can cook dinner for myself.  And, you know, have a mug for my coffee.  Funny thing, though, standing in Target looking for a cheap knife I randomly met up with my first grad school roommate.  She’s here for the year.  Weird.  If I weren’t so tired by all of the running around getting stuff for a temporary kitchen (not to mention getting slightly worried about of the bills piling up as I attempt to find stop-gap stuff) I’d make it into an entertaining story.  Instead, the bare fact: the academic world is really very small.
Now I’m going to knit.  And then wash some dishes for dinner.  Because my dishwasher is broken.  Figures.