blurry yarn love

This is going to be a bit rambling.
Here’s my new yarn.  I checked out the Haus of Yarn this afternoon, searching for some wooly love.  Thanks to Jodi I found out about Ysolda‘s new shawlette pattern.  Obviously, I needed some yarn.  And by chance, I decided on the very same shade used in the pattern.  It’s just so lovely.  And I’m casting on right now.
It’s a kind of therapy really.  See, we went with cheap movers and we should have known better.  Turns out, my furniture has never left New Jersey.  They packed it up August 1 … and it’s just been sitting around in some warehouse since then.  Um.  I don’t even want to think about what will be “lost” after all of this.  The company kind of promised to have it here this week.  Seriously ridiculous.
So, I went to Target (again) and bought some kitchen stuff so I can cook dinner for myself.  And, you know, have a mug for my coffee.  Funny thing, though, standing in Target looking for a cheap knife I randomly met up with my first grad school roommate.  She’s here for the year.  Weird.  If I weren’t so tired by all of the running around getting stuff for a temporary kitchen (not to mention getting slightly worried about of the bills piling up as I attempt to find stop-gap stuff) I’d make it into an entertaining story.  Instead, the bare fact: the academic world is really very small.
Now I’m going to knit.  And then wash some dishes for dinner.  Because my dishwasher is broken.  Figures.
5 thoughts on “blurry yarn love

  1. Wow, that’s horrible about your furniture. Here’s hoping it doesn’t disappear into the ether.

    Have fun with the shawl though and the small world of academia.

  2. Oh no, what a pain about the furniture! I already miss the yarn/blue table photos.

    Your Damson is going to be gorgeous. I was tempted to go out and get some Malabrigo sock, but decided to dig through the stash this time.

    It is amazing what a small world academia is.

Leave a Reply

