this morning

This morning I finally slept in.  That’s all I wanted to do over the tiny two-day break that took me to Ohio, and I made the dream come true this morning.  I love nothing more than a lazy slow morning, the kind that the semester just doesn’t allow.

But today, it was the perfect way to start my no-seminar Tuesday: a lazy morning in my comfy new bed (a real mattress!  so grown up!!  especially as it’s all for my old-lady-achey hip …), a little quality time with some coffee and my favorite wool, a late start to campus.

Though I’m slightly disappointed that sleeping in for me now means 8:30.  Sigh.

2 lights

2 lights

Of course, this wool is worth waking up for.  Why do I love it so much?  I could just knit, frog, re-knit this wool forever … I don’t really care if it never becomes anything other than the yarn I love to knit in a million different ways.  Is it because of the colors?  Or because I bought when I first started knitting, during a very happy summer in Vermont?

I am kinda falling in love with the shawl, despite the weird foldy nature of the garter-stitch edging.  I might have to buy more wool.  Because I might want a vest.

2 lights

2 lights

2 lights

In other news, I haven’t forgotten about the Idlewood.  I’ve got to finish lengthening the body, finish the sleeves, and add the pockets.  It should really only take me a day or two, so why am I dragging my feet?

idlewood, revised