good morning

I don’t want to jinx it, but I’m pretty sure fall has finally come to Nashville.  To celebrate, I decided to knit a new shawl.
good morning

And drink coffee out of a new mug.  It’s very yellow and though it’s been hibernating on a shelf in my kitchen for some time now (as part of my souvenir mug collection), this morning it seemed like a good way to start the day.  I feel like a bit of a cheat because I’ve never actually been to the Mystery Spot, but my sister assures me that it is indeed as awesome as it sounds.  And she’s been … and she bought me the mug … so it’s someone’s souvenir, at the very least.
good morning

But the real interest is next to the mug: Terra in that very lilac Ultra Alpaca I bought a while ago.  So far, it’s a dream: squooshy and soft with lovely heathered depths; easy enough to knit while reading, and just enough variety to prevent wandering away.  Actually, I find knitting to be the perfect way to get through some otherwise, um, difficult academic reading … I don’t necessarily want to keep reading, but I do want to keep knitting.  “Just one more row” = “just a few more sentences/ pages/ chapters”.  That’s how I got through some Judith Butler (whom I like very much but who is not know for her transparent prose stylings) on Sunday.  Everyone wins.

But especially me.  New shawl on the way + completed reading in the works = very happy day.  Now, I have to get to physical therapy, where they do not let me knit.  In fact, last time it was me and a very large man who called me “grad student”.  Is this how some athletes feel in literature seminars?  I was definitely a fish looking for some water.