well on the way

hooray!

Now that classes are over, grades are calculated, paper written, exam taken … I’ve been devoting quite a bit of time to my lovely Hooray! cardigan.  It’s growing at quite a rapid pace: the cable pattern is easy to memorize, the reverse stockinette a fun bit of texture that requires absolutely no extra effort, the Cascade 220 (golden something heather?) lovely to knit and a dream to spit splice.  Even my gauge is spot on.  Hello, fellow knitter with a wooly death grip.

hooray!

In fact, I’m in love with all of Veera‘s cardigans: celery, golden wheat, honey, hay; twenty ten; still light (okay, not a cardigan but objectively a very good thing).  I want them all.  Actually, Veera inspires in me the urgent desire to return to the land of (half of) my ancestors.  Seriously, Finland looks like a mighty awesome place for handknits.

hooray!

hooray!

That’s all for now.  Today is the day I attempt to get back to work … but really, I’m thinking I might just go hang out at a coffeeshop and see if I can spot Taylor Swift.  (Two of my friends have seen her.  I’ve obviously got to get out more because I’m certainly not going to stop being an incredible dork.)