what I do in my spare time

Life is pretty boring around here.  If you don’t count the stress.  I’ve really got to learn how to deal with the ups and downs of graduate student life.  Right now, the downs are two papers that need to get written so I can get on with my life.  The ups, well, I guess my cat counts, right?

Luckily, the knitting is much more rewarding.  La madre’s cardigan is progressing apace; I’ve finished the back and one front side.  It’s amazingly quit to knit if I just have a couple of hours to devote to it.  Since I don’t have that, it’s going rather slowly.

I do, however, almost have a completed Rustic Scarf from Last-Minute Knitted Gifts.  I was thinking sidewinder thoughts, but I saw this pattern, remembered the oodles of yorkshire tweed chunky that I have in my closet and decided to cast on.  Almost complete:

Dsc00461
I ended up with 10 row repeats instead of the recommended "modern" 9, but I somehow got confused while watching Pillow Talk, or maybe it was Second Sight, and didn’t bother to look at the pattern.  Anyway, my dad’s really not a modern kind of guy.  The colors aren’t quite so garish as they appear here — thank goodness.  A very satisfying project.

After my organizing extravaganza I vowed to put a stop to unnecessary yarn purchases.  And since unnecessary is such a subjective term, I thought I should just try not buying any yarn for a while.  I held fast … until yesterday.

Behold:

Dsc00463

The Koigu is for a pair of armwarmers (the yarn was obviously the trouble in the previous failed attempts) and the Blue Sky Alpaca is to stripe with my other two skeins, recently frogged.  Yummy!

One thought on “what I do in my spare time

Comments are closed.