Flight 505

So I’m finally back at school.  A good break was had by all. 

I was greeted by the lovely Lady Pantcelot who demanded much attention and treats.  All of which was granted to her.

And, yes, I have no illusions about the fact that I have indeed become a crazy cat lady. 

She’s just so fluffy.

But my life is not all cats.  I also met up with the wonderful Mr. B. for a gourmet ravioli and DVD extravaganza.  Are you familiar with The Omega Man?  If not, to say I recommend it is perhaps not the right word.  But if you have a hankering for genuine Charlton Heston / dystopia / zombie / blaxploitation fun, let me tell you, I think this might be your only option.

On the knitting front, I finished the Craving to Knit cardigan (in The Yarn Girls’ Guide to Simple Knits).  For my first sweater, I think it turned out quite well:

I didn’t alter the pattern, just adjusted for the shorter arms and longer body desired.

As you might be able to see, one button band (the one with the button holes) is slightly longer than the other.  Despite my careful counting, the left front was somehow 2 rows longer than the right.  Oh well.

La madre is happy with it.  And it’s cotton.  I really liked knitting with the ONline Ravenna.  It was bulky weight without being too heavy; lofty without being too cumbersome.  The plies did, however, tend to unravel during the sewing up, but that’s a relatively minor criticism.  I definitely plan on using this yarn in a future no-wool project. 

And it’s dirt cheap at elann.com.

I had never picked up stitches for necklines and button bands before.  It went surprisingly well once I got the technique down.  The shoulder seams were tricky at the neckline and since I was at home without any references, I just fudged my way through it.  Any suggestions?

The number of stitches I actually picked up had, though, absolutely no relation to the numbers suggested in the pattern.  I’m not sure why that was.  Inexperience? 

They turned out okay, luckily:

A respectable effort, if I do say so myself.  The pattern was a really nice way to start sweaters: clear, explicit instructions, easy shaping, straight forward knitting.  After all of the seaming, I can really see why knitting in one piece is desirable.  I think my next venture will be something Zimmermanical (which I’ve been meaning to start since, well, a long time ago).

My current project also calls for seaming, but I’m just so thrilled that I’ve unlocked the mysteries of the Rebecca wrap sweater with eyelets that I won’t let my enthusiasm be diminished by the horrifying prospect of having to sew up all of this mohair.

What you see here is the triumphant first repeat of the pattern.  My problem — once discovered and fixed — was really boring and obvious: somehow, when knitting 2 together I always managed to pick up the stitch in the row below, giving me an extra stitch on my needle.  Inexplicably, this happened only on the last eyelet pattern repeat … on three different attempts.  Instead of knitting these 2 stitches as one, I knit them separately, throwing off the delicate machinery of eyelet pattern YOs and decreases.  Well.  Amazingly, with the correct number of stitches remaining on the needle, the pattern works! 

Oh yes, I am unstoppable.

Leave a Reply

