you know what this means.

Dsc01646

Yep.  Furniture!! 

Ikea came through with an apartment full of furniture on Monday.  After the delivery guys schlepped it all up 4 flights of stairs (who needs an elevator?) with surprising speed, it took me quite a while to get everything put together — a couple of days, anyway.  At least all of the hardware and pieces were on hand and undamaged, and I got to bid a not-so-fond farewell to my air mattresses.   Needless to say, Alice and I are very happy with our newly accoutered living space.

In between assembly and enjoyment of the newly assembled pieces, I’ve even managed a bit of knitting. 

A little something for Socktoberfest:

Dsc01647

Lana Grossa Meilenweit Mega Boots Stretch (color 507)

I’m using the universal toe-up formula by Amy Swenson, which in combination with Judy’s magic cast-on for toe-up socks, has become my favorite way to make socks (for the admittedly few socks I have made, or at least started, anyway).  I threw in some K2, P2 ribbing just for a bit of interest, if K2, P2 ribbing counts as interesting.  The Mega Boots Stretch, although it does seem a bit splitty, is otherwise a heavy, solid sock yarn (hence the boots) with really lovely color variegation.  Thanks to iTunes, CSI, and a slight head cold, I’ve been able to make quite a bit of progress on the sock.

My copy-cat cardigan is also coming along:

Dsc01596

The Woolworth yarn continues to please and is living up to its schnellstrick title: I’ve already separated the sleeves and joined the body.  So far, it even seems to fit, although I’m sure it will feature my signature you-don’t-actually-have-a-40"-bust styling. 

Leave a Reply

