R.I.P. Socktoberfest

My moribund Socktoberfest sock:

Dsc01757
off the needles and heel frogged.  <sigh>

It had some length issues; I, in turn, had some frustration issues.  The above is the result.  One thing I have learned (and managed to practice with some regularity): it is best not to frog an entire project in a fit of frustration and rage at the injustice of it all.  Because one (i.e. I) usually has second thoughts and ends up wanting to salvage what can be salvaged.

So thanks to some waiting time at the bus stop this afternoon, the Socktoberfest sock manqué is back on the needles.

As noted above, the length was off.  Not much (only about half an inch), but enough to make it not fit.  I followed the universal toe-up sock formula, but my row gauge must have been wonky because when I finished the heel (using the wonderful short-row heel tutorial here) I had a very nice heel, but a very long foot.  I’ve never knit socks for men before and although the recipient has average-to-small feet for a man, I seem to be over-thinking this in a big way.  Just how much ease is good?  Bad?  Should they stretch a lot to fit the foot?  Not much?  How long should the leg be? 

Very exhausting.

After all of this, I’m not certain I’ll have enough yarn: is it really possible to get a pair of men’s socks out of one 100g ball of Lana Grossa Mega Boots Stretch? 

I should never have bought a kitchen scale … always weighting and doubting.

Leave a Reply

