single sock, M, seeks mate for LTR.

Here’s sock, the first:

Dsc01790

yarn: Lana Grossa Mega Boots Stretch (507)
needles: KnitPicks classic circs (3mm)
pattern: universal toe-up sock formula with 2×2 ribbing on foot and leg; used Judy’s magic cast-on and Misocrafty’s short row heel
final weight: 42g (56g remain); needles weigh: ~6g

For extra stretchiness and finish (they are a gift, after all) I attempted a tubular bind off.  An inch or so of 1×1 ribbing at the top and voila!:

Dsc01789

There appear to be lots of tutorials available; I followed this one by Savannahchick: lots of pictures, easy to follow.  This was my first attempt at a tubular bind off and my version isn’t all that pretty and definitely not perfect, but overall I’m happy with the results.  The bind off is very elastic and looks great (if not on this sock, then in an abstract kind of way); after I got the hang of the pattern, it wasn’t hard to remember.  More practice is definitely called for, though.  Good thing I have another sock to knit.

But instead of casting on for that, I started something a bit more mindless:

Dsc01792

An EZ very warm hat in yummy soft malabrigo, a lovely color called pearl gray (606).  It’s been a while since I’ve used malabrigo (Sockapalooza, to be exact) and it is so everything I think a yarn should be.  Soft and warm, beautiful to knit and more beautiful to look at.  The hat is coming along quite quickly, though I do foresee a bit of a hiatus while I try and figure out the colorwork pattern I want to use.  But that should be fun, non?

3 thoughts on “single sock, M, seeks mate for LTR.

Leave a Reply

