all about hats.

First off, thanks so much for all of the lovely sock comments.  It’s so nice to hear what people think!  (Especially when they’re saying complimentary things.)  The second sock is still only a twinkle in my eye, but I have been working on some very warm hats.

Number one is finished:

Dsc01814

frost gray

Dsc01812

black

pattern: EZ very warm hat (available in The Opinionated Knitter and Knitting Workshop)
yarn: malabrigo worsted, black and frost gray
needles: #9 US circs. (magic loop)

I just hope it isn’t too small. 

When working with the frost gray I hadn’t realized just how used to the variegation I had become; the black was a bit of a shock: it looked so flat somehow.   Overall, though, I think the two colors work together well.  (Not that one can really go wrong with gray and black.)   And I’m still overly proud of my self-designed motif (Wow.  Circles.  Who would have thought of that?!) even if the placement is way too high on the hat.  Oh well.  My stranded knitting technique does not bear up to prolonged scrutiny, anyway.  This way it is difficult to see, so high up on the crown. 

Number two is underway:

Dsc01824

pretty.

For this hat I’m using more malabrigo worsted in dark earth (140) and pearl (36) in addition to an actual charted motif, found here (through Ashley).  Again, the stranded knitting is not so delicious.  This is the second attempt; I decided to frog the entire motif after I discovered two lone out-of-place stitches.  Since it’s a gift, I wanted it to look as nice as possible.  And while I can’t improve my technique overnight, I can at least knit the chart correctly.

I do apologize for an extremely boring post, but it’s all hats around here.

I did, however, find out about a knitting evening/course at the local yarn store.  Every other Thursday.  I’m going to see about picking up continental knitting.  And better German knitting vocabulary.   

Leave a Reply

