some progress

Here’s my Monkey, just flying along:

dsc01903.jpg

The heel is turned and all appears well. Of course, I managed to pick up one extra stitch on each side of the gusset, but I am resigned to the fact that I will probably never ever ever manage to pick up the correct number of stitches, no matter the situation. The heel flap looks a bit long to me (I really *did* knit the correct number of rows, eventually) but since I don’t usually 1) knit socks or 2) knit socks with heel flaps I’m reserving judgment. Since they’re a gift, I’ll just have to wait and see.

If I make another pair of Monkeys, though, I think I’ll use a more substantial flap (see Cara’s, for instance), as I don’t see the plain stockinette wearing well.  All in all, I’m very pleased with the progress on the socks, not to mention the lovely pattern itself. I had to fix a few minor errors (counting is hard); rather, errors that would have been minor had I recognized them, say, 30 rows earlier. Lots of laddering.

I did also pick up just a teeny-tiny bit of yarn.

dsc01906.jpg

I know, what was I thinking? Well, actually, something like this.

And that’s all I have to say for myself. It’s one of those cold, grey, cloudy days around here where staying inside seems like the best idea. So I have.

Leave a Reply

