now for some real knitting content

Socks!

I finished up the Gentleman’s Shooting Stockings last night; now they’re just drying out before being shipped off to my dad.

Maybe sock blockers wouldn’t be such a bad idea.

pattern: Gentleman’s Shooting Stockings with Fluted Pattern [ravelry] by Nacy Bush, in Knitting Vintage Socks

yarn: Lana Grossa Meilenweit Mega Boots Stretch Softcolor (507), about 1 1/4 skeins or 460 yards

needles: 3.25 mm circs

started: March 2008

finished: April 12, 2008

And instead of relishing my triumph and heading to bed, I started another pair of socks.  These promised to my sister, since the Charades ended up a bit small and thus found a home on my mom’s feet.

Armed with Knitting Vintage Socks, a desire to knit something for Project Spectrum: Earth, and a brand new audio book (Edmund Crispin’s The Moving Toy Shop — so good), I cast on for these:

A little hard to tell in their current state, but these are the madder ribbed [ravelry] pattern in Kaffe Fassett Landscape Earth sock yarn.  So original.  But I wanted a quick, straight-forward knit, a travel project for bus and University use, in pretty yarn.  This definitely fits the bill.

Now on to my reading.

