socks

Here are the finished Silk Garden socks:

They turned out well: nice and easy, the Noro doing all of the work, really.

It’s been a long week and I’m very tired, so I don’t have much material here. Besides (or instead of) the proposal, I’m working on a February baby sweater and baby socks for a friend’s due-in-September boy. Luckily, I started the sweater without the gull pattern, not knowing the sex of the recipient. Such forethought.

The only exciting news around here: Kim tagged me for my very first ever meme.

“The rules of the game get posted at the beginning. Each player answers the questions about themselves. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5-6 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog.

Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.”

1) What was I doing 10 years ago?

I was a month away from graduating from high school; getting ready to go on an exciting European vacation with some friends (my first without adult supervision); so excited about going to Bryn Mawr; I was probably doing some homework, too, and practicing the flute and piccolo (skills now sadly atrophied).

2) What are 5 things on my to-do list for today (not in any particular order):

write up a bunch of my proposal (sadly not done); go to the library to get some books: Hegel, Heidegger, Aristotle (done); check the train schedule for my trip to Switzerland on Saturday (done); try not to freak out and quick grad school, again (well, I didn’t quit); do some laundry (done)

3) Snacks I enjoy:

wholewheat Prinzenrolle; chocolate; apples; coffee; cake; dried fruit bars; cheese; gummy bears

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

finish grad school without financial worries; buy an apartment in Germany; donate to my alma mater and various other deserving institutions; buy cashmere

5) Places I have lived:

Longview, WA; Bryn Mawr, PA; Freiburg, Germany; Princeton, NJ; Konstanz, Germany

6) If you want to play, consider yourself tagged. I’m nosey.

2 thoughts on “socks

  1. The socks are great. They look cozy and comforting.

    I have to try that Prinzenrolle. My friend in Holland has talked about it enough that I actually remember the name. I’m not sure exactly which variety, though.

Comments are closed.