more booty

I’ll admit that at first, I was a bit disappointed by the latest offering from the Yarn Pirate’s Booty Club.  Not the yarn itself: the merino/bamboo/nylon blend is soft and silky; the 460-yard skein more than generous.
Nor was it the price: I find the Booty Club to be one of the most reasonably-priced yarn subscriptions.
It was the color.
I’m just not a pastel kind of girl.  This, of course, is the problem with a yarn subscription — it’s not always something one might choose for oneself.  But then I realized that this precisely is the benefit of a yarn subscription.  Because these colors are perfect for my sister, a girl who loves her pink almost as much as she loves her public history.
For the obvious reasons, I always associate pink and pastels with the worst kind of girliness.  Or perhaps I’m just trying to live down a childhood affinity for pink and purple (together, of course).  So it’s always good for my sister to remind me that real, smart, accomplished women with advanced academic degrees like pink too.
So, since the sock mojo is seriously lacking around these parts, I’m going to start up a shawl of some kind (Flower Basket, anyone?).  Definitely something on the small side, as southern California never really gets cold enough for a full-on knit\xtravaganza.
2 thoughts on “more booty

  1. I’m not too big on sock club subscriptions b/c I’m just too picky about color. I am doing The Plucky Knitter’s club, since Sarah’s eye for color mostly coincides with my own, and the Sundara Seasons club, but that’s it.

    Good luck with the shawl knitting! How about the Forest Canopy Shoulder Shawl? That looks nice in variegated yarns.

  2. It’s always exciting to see how variegated yarn knits up. Can’t wait to see your shawl. I’m not a huge fan of pastels either, so I totally follow you. I’ve thought about subscribing to some kind of yarn club too (if I could just find a good one here in Europe!) but that’s exactly what keeps me from doing it. On the other hand, it could encourage you to knit something for someone else.

Leave a Reply

