this might be more complicated than i thought.

There are, after all, ten colors of wool to keep separate and properly organized A through J.  And as the names (hurricane, jacob, elegance, drab, candygirl, meadow, majestic, trance, jelly, blushes) bear little, um, shall we say, transparent connection to the actual color they represent, some system had to be implemented to keep things in order.
Needless to say, this isn’t a traveling kind of project.
earth stripe
Also, have I mentioned the ends to weave in?
As a PSA, I’d recommend a gauge swatch.  I didn’t and ended up frogging twice, with a pretty high yarn mortality rate.
earth stripe
Good thing it’s so pretty.
6 thoughts on “this might be more complicated than i thought.

  1. Proper organization is quite helpful.

    As for the ends, I’d suggest knitting them in as you go. I’ve been doing that with all the ends on my Dr. Who Scarf and I like the result.

  2. It is pretty, I aggree. One has to be quite fastidious, I guess (if that’s the right word…) Looking forward to see the progress on this.

  3. Very nice organization – I have the same system for the fair isle I’m doing. I’m surprised you have to do a gauge swatch for a shawl…

  4. Whoa. That’s a lot of ziploc. I guess you gotta do what you gotta do to keep it from tangling. (the idea of all that tangling makes me want to hide in horror…)

Comments are closed.