owls under review

I’ve been putting this off, but I just can’t ignore the obvious any longer.  My o-w-l-s is too big.  Way too big.
See how Alice doesn’t want to look?
It’s such a disappointment: I love this pattern, love the yarn, love how it all came together.  Except that it all came together a couple sizes large.
Part of the problem is something I’ve been kind of shy to mention, and since I’ve been knitting a lot non-fitted accessory garments hasn’t really been an issue; basically, I’ve lost a good bit of weight.  Like clothes-don’t-fit-anymore amount of weight.  It’s a good thing, it needed to happen, I’m a healthier person for it.  It just didn’t happen in the healthiest of ways: stress and paper-writing and despair, to keep it short.
And now I walk a lot to campus.  That’s the good part.
owls under review
All of that to say that I’m not quite used to my new body.  And my 34″ bust measurement.
I never intended to knit the pattern as fitted as written, but, honestly, 4″ of ease looks mighty silly, not to mention baggy.  Especially with the waist shaping.
So, what to do?  I’ve been considering the options and I think frogging the body is the only answer.  Sigh.
My list of post-finals knitting keeps growing …
10 thoughts on “owls under review

  1. would you have to frog the owls themselves? or just rip back and not increase as much? (and i hear you on the grad school weight loss thing — same over here, though my problem is a predominantly pants issue. i didn’t really have much to spare in my bust measurement! i wish i could apply for some additional funding for school clothes…)

  2. Wow, congratulations on finishing the sweater – which looks marvelous btw, and on losing weight, even though it was from stress. I’m glad I read your post. I am struggling lately trying to lose 10-15 pounds and was just about to open a bag of chips, so thank you, I didn’t do it. As far as the Owl sweater, do you happen to know someone who is knitworthy that the sweater would fit? Since you have to knit it over for yourself, you could get more yarn and knit yourself a brand new one without having to rip all your lovely work.

    1. I lost some weight about a year and a half ago – mostly because I needed to, or else my diabetes type 2 would go from “be careful” to “here’s some medication” – and discovered how strange it is not having some extra bulk to account for in clothes buying. I started knitting a little after I lost the majority of the weight, and I had to stop myself from making a size that I felt most comfortable in (usually a M-L) and knitting the size that I was (a S) so I would actually end up with a garment that I would wear! Your brain automatically makes allowances that it no longer needs to, but a long session with a tape measure I think helps to really cement in your mind how your new body actually looks/works. For instance, my “new body” is mostly a small, but I sometimes knit a larger sleeve because my arms are still a bit on the chubby side. Good to know so I don’t end up with arms that choke me up on my sweaters!

  3. Oy, that’s too bad, but the good thing is the weight loss. Now your brain needs to catch up to the body. Does reknitting the sweater count as burning more calories?!

  4. I’m sorry to hear that the sweater is too big – but congrats on the weight loss (but boo that its from stress and working too hard!). Can you fix the sweater somehow so you don’t have to frog the whole thing?

  5. What a pity that it doesn’t fit. The sweater looks great, like one of the other posters suggested, if there is somebody worthy of such a garment, you could maybe swap it for enough new wool for another “owl” for yourself perhaps?
    I also had a tendency to sometimes knit sweaters too large. I now use a well-fitting garment as a “template”. This helped me a lot.

  6. I hear you! I also recently lost a bunch and it is weird to try on last year’s sweaters and find that I could fit them on over a huge sweatshirt.

    Congratulations on the weight loss and the buff new bod and don’t feel too badly about the need to frog: you do like to knit, after all.

  7. What trek said: you do like to knit! It’s sad when you don’t have a new, nicely fitting sweater right away, but at least you *will* have one when you frog and re-knit.

    Finals. Ugh.

    If it helps, I’m the same way. Either I wore really baggy clothes in middle/high school or all the weight I lost (from stress? baby fat? who knows) over the years really added up. Now when I’m shopping for clothes I continually remind myself that I’m a small, not a medium or large. Clothes will fit better if I try small first.

    As for sweaters… yeah. Haven’t knit enough yet to really know.

Comments are closed.