me + garter stitch = love.

Another new project.
I feel a bit guily about abandoning the Earth Stripe so early in its fluffy mohair life.  In my defense, the wrap seems like the kind of project you have a relationship with: we’re going to be together for a long time, so we needed to set the ground rules.  Which included it being allowed to ignore the housework and me being able to indulge my wandering eye.  With the understanding that I would always come back home to the wrap.
mara
So I guess Mara is just a dalliance.  But a very pleasurable, straightforward, and undemanding one.  Perfect for my seminar-addled brain.  I can knit while reading, while thinking, while taking a break … all without worrying about losing my place in the pattern or making a grave mistake with some mohair.
Though my favorite public historian is back in California (where she hoards all of her Fun Facts), I did find this little bit of color psychology especially telling (if not 100% reliable as science):
1. Green represents tranquility, good luck, health.
2. Researchers have also found that green can improve reading ability.
3. Green is often used in decorating for its calming effect.
4. Green is thought to relieve stress and help heal.
mara
So I guess I could use all the green I can get.
8 thoughts on “me + garter stitch = love.

  1. hmmm, i might need a green project too! and i am way jealous of the reading while knitting skills you possess. I may have to practice this over the break…

    happy mara knitting!

  2. Such a beautiful green and the garter stitch is showing it off wonderfully. Have fun with your dalliance.

    I also like having simple projects around for knitting while reading but I do miss holding the book in my hands.

  3. Haha, I’m sure earth stripe wrap will understand. I’ve always thought it looked like a pretty mellow, forgiving sort of a pattern.
    Love the green! I think I might have to knit something green soon myself – I totally need all of those things right now. Especially 2, as I appear to be perusing blogs whilst I am supposed to be studying 🙂

  4. What a great shade of green – and good to know that it has all those benefits – maybe that’s why I always feel more relaxed after knitting the pair of socks I’m currently making (green!).

    Too funny about cheating on the poor earth wrap…poor thing – hopefully you’ll get back to it soon!

  5. Garter stitch is fabulous when you need a break! Being able to knit while reading is so nice. I love how cheerful that green is.

Comments are closed.