new year

The title says it all, really.  And I won’t lie: this has been one tough year.  I certainly don’t have enough perspective on it yet to get it all in focus.  A kind of almost but not quite impossible year.  I almost gave up, the bastards almost got me down.  But, as always, the almost is the important bit.  Turns out, I’m tougher than any old stupid year.  In the end, I managed so much that I’d long ago given up hope on ever achieving: a master’s degree, a second chance, new home and new friends, papers turned in on time, steps in the right direction.  Even a couple of dates.
Oh yeah, I made some pretty stuff, too.  And got to share it with crafty, funny, supportive, and downright wonderful fellow knitters.  You all helped a girl through.
Though horoscopes are an amusing distraction I attempt to read with a grain of salt, I somehow seem to end up on the right page at the right time.  Here’s mine from a few weeks ago:
“Lately you remind me of the person Robert Hass describes in his poem “Time and Materials”: “someone falling down and getting up and running and falling and getting up.” I’m sending you my compassion for the times you fall down, and my admiration for the times you get up, and my excitement for the times you run. It has probably become clear to you by now that the falling down isn’t a shameful thing to be cursed, but rather is an instrumental part of the learning process that is teaching you marvelous secrets about getting back up and running.”
That’s been my year.  Here’s to a 2010 with a bit more running.
6 thoughts on “new year

  1. Happy new year!! Sorry you didn’t have a great 2009 – it was my all time worst year ever ever EVER as well and it’s sounding like the same was true for lots of people, which is such a shame. Stupid 2009. But you’re so right, we are all tougher than any old year. I love that thought! Great horoscope too – I never read them, maybe I should start, heh. Here’s to new years and new things and being up and running 🙂

  2. hell, here’s to a new decade — and to keeping the really rough stuff to almost, rather than allowing it into reality.

  3. What a year. It’s been challenging, but you know what? You figured out how tough you are. So there’s the one good thing about 2009! So glad we’re all through. Happy New Year!

Comments are closed.