cannibalism!

Last weekend, while watching Dexter, I decided it was time to face the music and admit that my OWLS was just not working.  It was too big, too baggy, too long … all around just plain wrong.  So I got bold and started frogging.
cannibalism!
By casting on for something new.  It’s been pretty liberating, really: unravelling one sweater to make another.  And the funky Gaughan-tastic construction had me guessing for a while.  Is that an arm?  How is that an arm?  Is that an arm for dwarves?
It seems that I was stuck in small-project accessory mode for a long time, and now I’m hankering after some handknit sweaters.  Which is great, except for that Nashville’s winter is probably going to be ending pretty soon.  Eye on the prize: research in Germany.  In the winter.  No idea when/if that will happen, but it will require knitwear.
cannibalism!
C’est la vie.  I’m still excited about my sweater.  And EcoWool.
6 thoughts on “cannibalism!

  1. Huzzah! for (sweater) cannibalism. I wish I had something witty to say about zombies right now.

    Anyway, have fun making a new sweater.

  2. high five! eco wool needs to be turned into something you will wear. and i think knitting sweaters is the single most important thing you can do to prepare for an eventual winter research trip. hmmm, maybe i need to plan some archival work somewhere out west next january…

  3. I really need to use ecowool sometime! So many yarns to try, so little time… Research in Germany sounds like the best thing ever. Hmm I have to figure out what I want to do after I graduate.

  4. a huge leap from Owls to the Norah sweater. I look forward to seeing it modeled, it’s a fascinating construction.

  5. It sucks that the Owl sweater didn’t work out. But that yarn is too nice not to use so I think its great you are using the yarn to make a new sweater!

Comments are closed.